Biography Hermann Vaske

Hermann Vaske is a director, author and producer. As a director he worked with actors such as Dennis Hopper, Harvey Keitel, Sir Peter Ustinov and John Cleese.

He is the winner of the Grimme Award (Germany’s TV Oscar) and more than 100 creative awards including Cannes Lions and Clios.

After studying at the University of the Arts in Berlin and at the American Film Institute in Los Angeles, Hermann worked as Creative Director at Saatchi & Saatchi in London and at FCB Hamburg.

Hermann’s previous television films include features on David Bowie and Yohji Yamamoto, as well as the feature length documentaries “The Fine Art of Separating People From Their Money”, “The A – Z of Separating People From Their Money” and “The Ten Commandments of Creativity” starring Dennis Hopper and Sir Peter Ustinov, for which he won the Special Award of the Jury of the International Television Festival of Venice.

His books include “Standing on the Shoulders of Giants – Conversations with the Masters of Advertising” which was released in 2001 and “Why Are You Creative?” with a foreword by His Holiness the Dalai Lama. Hermann’s “Why Are You Creative?” TV series with 150 episodes was broadcast on the ARTE channel in 2002.

The same year Hermann presented his “Why Are You Creative?” exhibition in Cannes at the International Film Festival and at the Frankfurt Book Fair. In October 2002 he was awarded the Eyes & Ears of Europe Excellence Award.

In 2003, Hermann directed the short feature film “Who Killed the Idea?” starring Harvey Keitel, Debi Mazar and supermodel Nadja Auermann. The film was shown on ARTE. Hermann’s film “Das Kleine Fernsehspiel – reloaded”, which portrayed 40 years of independent films was broadcasted by ZDF, German Television the same year. With Jim Jarmusch, Mike Leigh, Tom Tykwer, Wolfgang Petersen and others.

In 2005, Vaske won two German Art Director’s Club Gold and a Cannes Lion for the “Blixa Bargeld reads Hornbach” campaign.

The same year he shot the 98-minute documentary “Invasion of the Ideas” for ARTE. This journey to the center of the idea stars artists like Björk, Daniel Libeskind, Peter Gabriel, Marilyn Manson, Fernando Meirelles, Sean Penn and Steven Soderbergh, and top scientists like Dr. Amit Goshwami, Deepak Chopra, Edward De Bono, Craig Venter, Wolf Singer and Stephen Hawking.

In 2006, Hermann produced and directed “The Art of Football” starring John Cleese. It’s an exciting rollercoaster ride into the crazy and creative world of football. With football legends like Pelé, Beckenbauer, Platini, Kaká, Henry and Collina, politicians like Dr. Henry Kissinger, filmmakers like Wim Wenders and musicians like Dave Stewart. “The Art of Football” was nominated for a Grimme Award in 2007 and won a Gold Award at the Art Directors Club of Europe.

In 2007, Hermann produced and directed “Must I Write?”, a short film based upon Rainer Maria Rilke’s “Letters to a Young Poet” starring Dennis Hopper. Director of Photography: Rain Li (“Paranoid Park”).

In 2009 Hermann directed “The Radical Gardener”, starring Jeff Koons, Jonathan Meese and Malcolm McLaren.

In 2010, Hermann shot “Digital Bomb”, where Internet celebrity Tron Guy presents the past, present and future of the Internet.

In 2012 Hermann has completed “Balkan Spirit”, a rollercoaster ride through the creativity of South East Europe. With Marina Abramovic, Slovoj Zizek, Emir Kusturica and Angelina Jolie.

In 2014 Hermann finished “Arteholic” in which film and Art legend Udo Kier takes us around Europe’s best museums. With Rosemary Trockel, Marcel Odenbach, Nicolette Krebitz and Lars von Trier.

Hermann Vaske is a member of the German Art Directors Club and the European Film Academy (EFA).

Portrait of Hermann

Hermann Vaske Filmography